December Bookshelf

Maisy’s Christmas Party
By Lucy Cousins

Maisy has sent her friends invitations to her holiday party and in return they all send thank-you notes to Maisy, each with a special surprise. The envelope pockets hold little treasures from her friends including a simple gingerbread recipe, a book of jokes, a small advent calendar, a puzzle and a Christmas card from Maisy to her readers. Ages 3 to 5 – Publisher Candlewick Press – $19.99

The Crayons’ Christmas
By Drew Daywalt, illustrator Oliver Jeffers

In this unique book, readers get to see how Duncan, the crayons, and their families celebrate the holidays. With real, folded letters from the Crayons that you can pull from their envelopes and read, games, punch-out ornaments, a poster, and a pop-up tree, this book is the perfect gift for fans of The Day the Crayons Quit and The Day the Crayons Came Home. Ages 3 to 7 – Publisher Random House – $19.99 hardcover

A Christmas Sweater for Nina
By Cecilia Heikkila

Showing kindness is the message within this tender-hearted Christmas story that features a stray cat whose “warm and woolly” red sweater protects her from the winter weather. On a walk one day the entire sweater unravels and the final thread leads to her forever home. Beautifully illustrated, this story would make a great addition to a Christmas book collection. Ages 3 to 8 – Publisher, Crocodile Books – $17.95 US

Santa’s Story
By Will Hillenbrand

Santa is ready to leave on Christmas Eve, but he can’t find the reindeer anywhere. Dasher is busy dashing, Donner is dozing, and Cupid is crooning. It isn’t until Santa remembers their annual tradition—reading a Christmas story together—that the reindeer are ready. This charming yuletide tale is all about honouring the celebration of holiday customs with those you love. Ages 2 to 5 – Publisher, Two Lions – $17.99 US

The Little Snowplow Wishes for Snow
By Lora Koehler, illustrator Jake Parker

Kids love mighty machines as was proved by the original New York Times bestseller “The Little Snowplow”. The energetic little hero is back for a story about wishing, waiting and the magic of a first snowfall. Young vehicle fanatics and fans of playing in the snow will enjoy this tale. Ages 3 to 7 – Publisher Candlewick Press – $21.99

Snack, Snooze, Skedaddle: How Animals Get Ready for Winter
By Laura Purdie Salas, illustrator Claudine Gevry


There is more than one way for animals to prepare for winter. Some simply tolerate the cold, others, like black bears hibernate, but chipmunks, wood frogs, and garter snakes do too. And then there are the creatures that migrate, including hummingbirds, blue whales, and even earthworms. This rhyming nonfiction picture book tells all about how animals survive chilly weather. Ages 5 to 9 ¬– Publisher, Thomas Allen ¬– $29.99 hardcover

We’re Going on a Bear Hunt Christmas Activity BookInspired by the animated special based on a beloved classic, this treasure trove of activities, fun facts, and more than a hundred stickers is the perfect gift. Whether kids like staying indoors to make crafts or stepping outside to explore, they’ll find plenty of ideas in this gem of a book. Ages 3 to 7 – Publisher Candlewick Entertainment – $9.99 paperback

The Kids’ Book of Paper Love: Write. Craft. Play. Share
By Irene Smit and Astrid Van Der Hulst


This is a hefty book that begs to be folded, cut up, collaged, doodled on, and shared. Loop paper strips into a paper chain. Snip out bookmarks. Fold a paper house. Make photo booth props to pose with friends. Construct a paper flower bouquet, a paper terrarium and a fortune-teller with prompts. Other surprises include a foldout paper banner, postcards, glitter stickers, a paper doll, poster, and much more. It’s a treat for hands-on kids.
Ages 8 to 12 – Publisher, Barnes and Noble – $19.95

Cooking Class Global Feast!
By Deanna F. Cook


This vibrant cookbook for kids is a culinary exploration of cultural diversity. While exploring global cuisines, kids gain practical kitchen skills through preparing breakfasts, drinks, snacks, dinners and desserts. Recipes are illustrated with step-by-step photography while profiles of children from a wide range of backgrounds honour their heritage and unique food traditions. Ages 8 to 12 – Publisher, Thomas Allen – $42.95 hardcover